Top 5 Gins

Bottles
We have a game we play sometimes, if the conversation starts to lag a bit.

It’s called “Top 5…”.

Someone announces the category (like “Top 5 biscuits” or “Top 5 crisp flavours”) and everyone debates their favourites. It’s more fun than it sounds – try it!

Anyway, I thought I’d give it a whirl with gin.

It’s too hard. I couldn’t choose a top 5 without overlooking a favourite. So I changed the rules, and introduced categories.

This is what I’ve come up with so far:

House gin: Portobello Rd

You really can’t beat Portobello for value and chameleonic adaptability.

Specifically designed to work in both Negroni and Martini, it’s a classic gin-drinkers gin; balancing juniper and citrus with a pleasing peppery finish.

Prestige quality at supermarket prices, there’s a reason it’s a common “house” gin, my house included.

I nearly chose: Langley’s No. 8

Small batch gin: Daffy’s

The beautiful bottle and packaging is the first thing you’ll notice about Daffy’s. Don’t worry though, the contents are even better.

I nearly chose: Slingsby

Spicy gin: Whitley Neil

I love the gentle spice of Whitley Neil in a Negroni. To my palette it perfectly complements the orangey bittersweet balance of my favourite cocktail.

I nearly chose: Hmm, not really a strong second here.

Floral gin: Bloom

Another lovely bottle, and a great subtle gin inside. It’s a gentle, aromatic, affair; best enjoyed in a G&T or any drink that allows the gin room to breathe.

I nearly chose: Rock Rose

Old Tom gin: Hayman’s Old Tom

There are some cocktails that just don’t work with London Dry, so having a bottle of Old Tom in the house is a must.

I nearly chose: Jensen’s Old Tom


Do you disagree?

Good.

This is not supposed to be the definitive answer. The joy of Top 5ing is passionately debating things that can’t possibly have a right or wrong answer. I probably don’t even agree with myself.

So what are your Top 5?

This entry was posted in Top 5s and tagged .

Leave a comment